NEW ORLEANS (AP) — Coach Bill Parcells, who led the New York Giants to two Super Bowl titles, was among seven elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Warren Sapp, Cris Carter, Jonathan Ogden and Larry Allen, and a pair of senior selections, Curley Culp and Dave Robinson, were inducted.

Five players failed to get in on the final vote: Jerome Bettis, Charles Haley, Andre Reed, Michael Strahan and Aeneas Williams.

Earlier, the selection committee eliminated Tim Brown, Kevin Greene, Will Shields and former owners Edward DeBartolo Jr. and Art Modell.

Parcells reversed the fortunes of four teams — Giants, New England Patriots, New York Jets and Dallas Cowboys — during 19 years as a head coach. He finished with a record of 172-130-1.

Giants president and CEO John Mara said Parcells' selection for the hall was "long overdue."

Sapp amassed 96 ½ sacks in 13 seasons with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and Oakland Raiders.He was the 1999 NFL defensive player of the year.

Carter played 16 seasons, becoming only the second player in NFL history to reach 1,000 receptions in a career. He totaled 130 touchdown receptions from 13 passers.

Allen played 203 games over 14 seasons, spending the bulk of his career with the Cowboys.

Ogden spent a dozen seasons with the Baltimore Ravens, and was voted to 11 Pro Bowls.

Culp was a defensive stalwart for the Kansas City Chiefs in the 1960s and '70s. He started at tackle in Kansas City's Super Bowl win over Vikings in 1970 and was selected to six Pro Bowls.

Robinson played on the great Green Bay Packers teams of the 1960s, starting at outside linebacker in coach Vince Lombardi's victories in the first two Super Bowls.


Follow Paul Newberry on Twitter at