Pre-poll voting opens today for the four Queensland communities short-listed for potential de-amalgamation.

Electoral Commission Queensland (ECQ) says almost 80,000 residents in the former Mareeba, Douglas, Noosa and Livingstone shires will take part in the compulsory ballot.

ECQ spokesman Walter van de Merwe says up to 40 per cent are expected to vote ahead of the poll on March 9.

"Electors will receive within the next few days a voter information letter personally addressed to them," he said.

"On that letter it'll have information of polling booths, postal voting, pre-poll venues and the like."