PALLEKELE, Sri Lanka (AP) — South Africa captain AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bat first Friday in the third one-day international against Sri Lanka at Pallekele International Stadium.

The visitors must win this match to remain in the five-match series after losing the first two games in Colombo. They will be without opener Hashim Amla who was injured trying to stop a ball in the second match last Tuesday. Quinton de Kock replaces him.

Spinner Aaron Phangiso and seamer Chris Morris have been dropped to include batsman Farhaan Behardien and seam bowler Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Sri Lanka's captain Angelo Mathews returns to the team after serving a two-match suspension for maintaining a slow over rate in the tri-series final against India in the Caribbean earlier this month.

Middle order batsman Lahiru Thirmanne has been left out due to injury while Jehan Mubarak and seamer Shaminda Eranga have been dropped. Spinner Ajantha Mandis and ODI debutant Angelo Perera have been included.


Lineups: Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Perera, Thisara Perera, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Alviro Petersen, Quinton de Kock, Jean-Paul Duminy, Farhaan Behardien, Robin Peterson, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.