Communications Minister Malcolm Turnbull has named former Optus and Telstra chief executive Ziggy Switkowski as the new chairman of the National Broadband Network Company.

Dr Switkowski replaces chairwoman Siobhan McKenna and will be joined on the board by existing members Kerry Schott and Alison Lansley.

Mr Turnbull asked the entire board to offer to resign shortly after the Coalition was elected to give the new government more flexibility to roll out its version of the network.

He says he intends to appoint more non-executive directors to the board.

"In appointing Dr Switkowski to the board as chairman, we're appointing one of the most experienced telecom executives in Australia, someone who's been the CEO of not just Telstra but Optus as well, a very distinguished company director and chairman," he said.

More to come.