Two Victorian electoral districts have been abolished in a big reorganisation of the state's electoral boundaries which will affect up to one million voters.

The of Doncaster, held by Community Services Minister Mary Wooldridge and the seat of Rodney, held by Nationals MP Paul Weller are to be abolished.

Fifteen districts have had name changes. For example the district of Mitcham is being abolished but will be renamed Ringwood.

One new electorate, Eildon, has been created.

About 30 per cent of voters in the state will now have new electoral districts but only a little over 1 per cent have actually been moved into different districts.

About 6,750 voters in Moe are being moved from the Morwell district to Narracan.

About 3,500 voters in Inverloch are moving from Gippsland South to Bass.

In Toorak, 2,623 voters will move from seat of Malvern to Prahran and the suburb of Highton in Geelong will move from Geelong to South Barwon, affecting 5,755 voters.

In the Kiewa Valley, 2,342 voters will move into Benambra from the previous seat of Murray Valley which is now called Ovens Valley.

Fifteen hundred voters in the Basin will move from Monbulk to Bayswater.

The boundaries are regularly changed to ensure that each vote has an equal value.

For the Lower House the quota for an electoral district is 41,473, plus or minus 10 per cent.

The quota for an Upper House region is 456,207, plus or minus 10 per cent.

Quotas for electorates are based on enrolments at November 30, 2012.

The new boundaries will apply from the November 29, 2014 election.