SYDNEY (AP) — Mike Hussey's international career looks to be over after Australia dropped him Sunday from its 13-man squad for the first two one-dayers against Sri Lanka.

The 37-year-old batsman retired from test cricket after Sunday's five-wicket win at the Sydney Cricket Ground completed a 3-0 the ongoing third test against Sri Lanka and has now been overlooked for the 50-over game.

"I would have liked to play, but the selectors spoke to me and said they were starting to look towards the 2015 World Cup and that's fine," Hussey said. "It would have been nice to play but I totally understand where the selectors are going."

National selector John Inverarity said Hussey's age counted against him in the national selection panel's thinking.

"Taking a long-term view towards the ICC Cricket World Cup, the NSP has decided not to include Michael Hussey in the squad," Inverarity said. "Michael has been a tremendous ODI player for Australia over a long period of time - a match-winner for his country - and his presence in coloured clothing will be sorely missed."

There are several more changes to the most recent Australia one-day team, which played against Pakistan in September.

Test captain Michael Clarke is out, along with opener David Warner, wicketkeeper Matthew Wade and bowlers Dan Christian and James Pattinson.

Clarke will be rested because of his hamstring injury but expects to only miss the first two games, Warner and Wade given recovery time after six straight tests and Pattinson is short of full fitness.

Brad Haddin will take over the gloves from Wade, George Bailey will captain the side and the batting options come from Aaron Finch, Phil Hughes and Usman Khawaja. Hussey's brother, David, is also in the squad.

Australia hosts Sri Lanka in Melbourne on Friday and the teams meet again two days later at the Adelaide Oval.

There are three more matches after that, followed by two Twenty20s.


Australia squad:

George Bailey (captain), Ben Cutting, Xavier Doherty, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Phillip Hughes, David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Glenn Maxwell, Clint McKay, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc.